Again

A very moving, provocative story.

Andrew Joyce

170px-Standarte_Adolf_Hitlers_svg

What you are about to read, I transcribed from a cassette recording. It came to me in a roundabout way about two years ago. A friend of mine runs an Assisted Living Facility; what we used to call a nursing home. An old gentleman recently died there and as he had no family, his belongings were boxed up and brought to my friend’s office for disposal. The clothes were thrown away, the books put in the community room. The cassette player, my friend kept.

After listening to the tape, my friend called me to tell me about it. Because I am a writer, he thought I might be able to use something from it for a story idea. I thanked him and asked if he could drop it off the next time he was in the neighborhood. A week later, I answered a knock on my door and there stood…

View original post 8,100 more words

Leave a Reply

