Shoo-Fly Pie

Alrighty then, a story to make us laugh out loud! And it brings back memories of my own Mom, in so many ways. Thanks Ibeth!!! (Could have done without that photo, though…you have surely saved me some calories this Thanksgiving….ewwww!!)

Nutsrok

pieSweet potato pies were a staple on our Thanksgiving table.  When I was about fifteen, Mother was running way behind with the many demands of the day and coerced me into making the pies the day before Thanksgiving.  I had better things to do; anything would have been better than being stuck in the house making pies.  Mother didn’t play around that day.  I wasn’t going anywhere or doing anything till those pies got made.  I was not happy.  All the other kids in the world got to do what they wanted to.  I had to work all the time.  It wasn’t my company coming tomorrow.  I didn’t even like stupid potato pie.  The only reason Mother had kids was so they could do her work.

I was experienced enough in the ways of the world to keep my smart mouth shut, but I fumed as I worked.  Mother even…

View original post 366 more words

Leave a Reply

