Top ten great reasons to get older. Plus RESOLUTION by Andrew Joyce #TuesdayBookBlog #Western

Funny post about old age–and a compelling review of Andrew Joyce’s new book RESOLUTION. Enjoy!

Barb Taub

The advantages of geezerhood

Every time I go to New York, I learn something new. Last time, I learned that I’m one of these people.

PRIORITY SEATING: Please offer your seat to a pregnant woman. Unless she's wearing a Red Sox hat. PRIORITY SEATING: Please offer your seat to a pregnant woman. Unless she’s wearing a Red Sox hat.

I know that because every single time I got onto a subway, people leaped up to offer me their seat. My baby is a college graduate, and the only happy event I’m expecting is the release of the new iPhones. (My death-by-techie brother sometimes gives me his old ones.) So that leaves me as the three-legger. Wait… WTF?

See, I think of myself as this.

image001356130863433hikn2c

But apparently, in the light from the New York subway system, I’m this:

tumblr_ln4krjOpd51qaphrco1_500Do you think for one minute I’d admit to undeserved and unnecessary impersonation of a senior citizen? Hell, yeah. That seat was mine.

images

And that’s when it hit me. There are…

View original post 2,123 more words

One thought on “Top ten great reasons to get older. Plus RESOLUTION by Andrew Joyce #TuesdayBookBlog #Western

Leave a Reply

