The Swamp

And I thought my human’s story (“Twenty Questions”) was creepy. If The Swamp is fiction, thanks to Mr. Joyce for sharing his talent. If he actually lived this, I’m so glad he lived *through* it…what a harrowing experience!

Andrew Joyce

swamp

When I got into the car, he told me to call him Teddy Bear. It was 3:00 a.m. and I was hitchhiking. I was grateful when I saw the brake lights come on and the car stop about thirty feet from where I was standing. The car itself was not visible because the fog at that time in the morning was so thick.

As I’ve said, I was to call the driver Teddy Bear, which didn’t strike the seventeen-year-old boy, which I was at the time, as a strange or unreasonable request. The road was a deserted two-lane affair that ran right through a swamp, which accounted for the excessive fog. I was damn glad he had happened along. It was mighty wet and cold, standing out there on the side of the road.

Because of the low visibility, we were going about twenty miles per hour and Teddy Bear…

View original post 2,639 more words

Leave a Reply

