Geronimo

Enjoyed Geronimo’s telling of his family life and the brief telling of the legends his parents shared with him and his siblings, very interesting. But also….so sad, so many tragedies–and the question is why…for what?

Andrew Joyce

These are Geronimo’s own words as dictated to S. M. Barrett in 1905.

≈≈≈≈≈

I, Geronimo, was born in Nodoyohn Canyon, Arizona, June 1829.

In that country which lies around the head waters of the Gila River, I was reared. This range was our fatherland; among these mountains our wigwams were hidden; the scattered valleys contained our fields; the boundless prairies, stretching away on every side, were our pastures; the rocky caverns were our burying places.

I was fourth in a family of eight children, four boys and four girls. Of that family, only myself, my brother, Porico, and my sister, Nahdaste , are yet alive. We are held as prisoners of war in this Military Reservation.

As a babe I rolled on the dirt floor of my father’s tepee, hung in my tsoch at my mother’s back, or suspended from the bough of a tree. I was warmed by…

View original post 4,205 more words

Leave a Reply

